Supporter on Site: Gaby in Nepal

Gaby is our Supporter on Site in Nepal. With her Association Surya Kiran - ein Sonnenstrahl für Kinder e. V. she operates two children's homes in Kathmandu. Her drive: To provide girls from impoverished backgrounds with a childhood and access to education and vocational training.

We are now active on three continents and in 15 countries. Our goal: to help as quickly and efficiently as possible. How does this work? Thanks to our partners in the countries where we are active! They speak the local language, are well connected, have important contacts, and, above all, understand the local conditions. To get to know our so-called “Supporters on Site” better, we introduce them to you in our interview series.

One of them is Gaby from Nepal, whose association we support in running children’s homes for girls, among other things.

STELP: Could you briefly introduce yourself and tell us in which country you work with STELP?
Gaby: I’m Gaby Krüger from Esslingen and chairwoman of Surya Kiran – ein Sonnenstrahl für Kinder e.V. After the major earthquake in Nepal in 2015, we set up two children’s homes for girls from the poorest backgrounds to protect them from child labor, early marriage, and trafficking to brothels in India. In the children’s homes, we provide them with a protected childhood and space for learning, playing, and personal development. All 28 girls attend the SDB School, a private secondary school in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Additionally, we ensure access to education for other children at this school through school sponsorships. Furthermore, we improve learning opportunities at the school through various (construction) projects.

STELP: What do you do for a living?
Gaby: I’m a freelance Ayurveda therapist.

STELP: How did you get involved with STELP, and how long have you been a ‘Supporter on Site’?
Gaby: I got to know STELP in 2019 at the Stuttgart Non-Profit Forum. This led to a wonderful partnership from the summer of 2020 onwards. STELP played a significant role in enabling us to admit more girls by building the second children’s home. Additionally, STELP supports the girls who go to college or undergo vocational training after the 10th grade with an education fund.

STELP: Why is your project so important to you?
Gaby: I first visited Nepal in 1991, and since then, the country has never let me go. I’ve been to Nepal 16 times now and have experienced the beautiful aspects of its nature, impressive culture, and friendly people, but also the bitter poverty and being trapped in old traditions. Girls, especially, are disadvantaged in poor families; they have to take care of their younger siblings early on and help with household chores or in the fields. Many are married off early, which perpetuates the cycle: working in the husband’s household, having children early, no education… That’s why it’s so important to me to give these girls a childhood and access to school and vocational training. This is the only way to break the cycle of poverty, because their children will not be uneducated!

STELP: What kind of work do you enjoy most in your project?
Gaby: The most beautiful thing for me is the personal contact when I see the girls during my regular visits on site. Knowing where they come from – from what poverty (some from families living in garbage dumps and surviving on garbage) and from what precarious family situations – and seeing the personalities they develop into, makes me happy every day. To give these girls a future, a trusting cooperation with our local partner, Anupendra Acharya (headmaster of the SDB School), is important. Working together with him and my fellow board members to make a difference is deeply satisfying!

STELP: Do you have a life motto?
Gaby: “I can’t get more than a no!” Meaning: I always want to know everything and always ask questions, try to achieve things that are important to me, and if something really isn’t possible, I accept it!

Thanks for your support!

Great, that worked. Thank you for taking the time to fill out the form.

Would you like to be kept up to date about our projects? Then sign up for the STELP-Newsletter.

Merry Christmas!

Your admission for the gifted partnership was successfull! You will shortly receive a confirmation email from us in which you will find all the details listed again. If you have any further questions, please contact us by e-mail.

Thank you for your donation

Your donation was successful. You will shortly receive a confirmation email from us in which you will find all the details listed again. Your donation will be debited from your account in approx. 3-5 working days. If you have any further questions, feel free to talk to us personally or write us an e-mail.

Thank you for your admission!

Your admission was successful! You will shortly receive a confirmation email from us in which you will find all the details listed again. If you have any further questions, please contact us by e-mail.

Thank you for your admission!

Your admission was successful! You will shortly receive a confirmation email from us in which you will find all the details listed again. If you have any further questions, please contact us by e-mail.

Supporter on Site: Gaby in Nepal

Gaby ist unsere Supporter on Site in Nepal. Mit ihrem Verein Surya Kiran - ein Sonnenstrahl für Kinder e. V. betreibt sie zwei Kinderhäuser in Kathmandu. Ihr Antrieb: Mädchen aus armen Verhältnissen eine Kindheit und eine Schul- und Berufsausbildung ermöglichen.

Mittlerweile sind wir auf drei Kontinenten und in 15 Ländern aktiv. Unser Ziel: möglichst schnell und effizient helfen. Wie das funktioniert? Dank unserer Partner:innen vor Ort in den Projektländern! Sie sprechen die Landessprache, sind gut vernetzt, haben wichtige Kontakte und vor allem kennen die die Begebenheiten vor Ort. Um unsere sogenannten “Supporter on Site” besser kennenzulernen, stellen wir sie Euch in unserer Interview-Reihe vor.

Eine von ihnen ist Gaby aus Nepal, deren Verein wir unter anderem beim Betrieb von Kinderhäusern für Mädchen unterstützen. 

STELP: Stell Dich uns doch kurz einmal vor: Wer bist Du und in welchem Land arbeitest Du mit STELP zusammen?
Gaby: Ich bin Gaby Krüger aus Esslingen und Vorsitzende des Vereins Surya Kiran – ein Sonnenstrahl für Kinder e.V. Wir haben nach dem großen Erdbeben in Nepal 2015 zwei Kinderhäuser für Mädchen aus den ärmsten Verhältnissen aufgebaut, um sie vor Kinderarbeit, früher Verheiratung und den Verkauf in Bordelle nach Indien zu schützen. In den Kinderhäusern ermöglichen wir ihnen eine geschützte Kindheit und geben ihnen Raum zum Lernen, Spielen und die persönliche Entwicklung. Alle 28 Mädchen gehen in die SDB-Schule, eine private Secondary School in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Außerdem kümmern wir uns durch Schulpatenschaften um eine Schulbildung für weitere Kinder an dieser Schule. Darüber hinaus verbessern wir die Lernmöglichkeiten an der Schule durch verschiedene (Bau-)Projekte.

STELP: Was machst du beruflich?
Gaby: Ich bin freiberufliche Ayurveda-Therapeutin.

STELP: Wie bist du zu der Arbeit mit STELP gekommen und wie lange bist Du schon „Supporter on Site“? 
Gaby: Ich habe STELP 2019 auf dem Stuttgarter Non-Profit-Forum kennengelernt. Daraus hat sich ab Sommer 2020 eine wunderbare Partnerschaft entwickelt. STELP hat maßgeblich daran Anteil, dass wir durch den Bau des zweiten Kinderhauses weitere Mädchen aufnehmen konnten. Außerdem unterstützt STELP die Mädchen, die nach der 10. Klasse aufs College gehen oder eine Berufsausbildung machen, mit einem Ausbildungsfond.

STELP: Warum liegt dir dein Projekt so sehr am Herzen?
Gaby: 1991 war ich zum ersten Mal in Nepal und seitdem hat mich das Land nicht mehr losgelassen. Inzwischen war ich 16 Mal in Nepal und habe die schönen Seiten von großartiger Natur, beeindruckender Kultur und liebenswürdiger Menschen, aber auch bittere Armut und das Gefangensein in alten Traditionen kennengelernt. Gerade Mädchen werden in armen Familien benachteiligt, müssen sich schon früh um ihre kleineren Geschwister kümmern und bei der Hausarbeit oder auf dem Feld mithelfen. Viele werden früh verheiratet, weshalb der Kreislauf weitergeht: Arbeit im Haushalt des Ehemannes, früh Kinder, keine Schulbildung… Deshalb liegt es mir so sehr am Herzen, diesen Mädchen eine Kindheit und eine Schul- und Berufsausbildung zu ermöglichen. Nur so kann der Kreislauf der Armut durchbrochen werden, denn deren Kinder werden einmal nicht ungebildet sein!

STELP: Welche Art von Arbeit bereitet dir bei deinem Projekt am meisten Freude?
Gaby: Am schönsten ist für mich der persönliche Kontakt, wenn ich die Mädchen bei meinen regelmäßigen Besuchen vor Ort sehe. Zu wissen, wo sie herkommen – aus welchen Armutsverhältnissen (z.T. Müllfamilien, die im Müll und vom Müll leben) und aus welchen prekären Familienverhältnissen – und zu sehen, zu welchen Persönlichkeiten sie sich entwickeln, macht mich jeden Tag glücklich. Um diesen Mädchen eine Zukunft zu geben, ist eine vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Partner vor Ort, Anupendra Acharya (Schuldirektor der SDB-Schule) wichtig. Gemeinsam mit ihm und meinen Vorstandskolleg:innen etwas zu bewirken, ist zutiefst befriedigend!

STELP: Hast Du ein Lebensmotto?
Gaby: „Mehr als ein Nein kann ich nicht bekommen!“ Heißt: ich will immer alles wissen und frage immer nach, versuche Dinge, die mir wichtig sind zu erreichen, und wenn etwas wirklich nicht geht, akzeptiere ich es!

Frohe Weihnachten!

Deine Anmeldung für die verschenkte STELP-Partnerschaft war erfolgreich! In Kürze wirst du von uns eine Bestätigungsmail erhalten, in der du alle Daten noch einmal aufgelistet findest. Bei weiteren Fragen melde dich gerne per E-Mail bei uns.

Danke für deine Spende

Deine Spende war erfolgreich. In Kürze erhältst du eine Bestätigungsmail mit deinen angegebenen Daten. Deine Spende wird in ca. 3-5 Werktagen von deinem Konto abgebucht.  Bei Spenden über 300 € erhältst du innerhalb von 14 Tagen nach der Gala eine Spendenbescheinigung von uns.  Falls du noch irgendwelche weiteren Fragen haben solltest, sprich uns gerne persönlich an oder schreibe uns eine E-Mail.

Danke für deine Anmeldung!

Deine Anmeldung war erfolgreich! In Kürze wirst du von uns eine Bestätigungsmail erhalten, in der du alle Daten noch einmal aufgelistet findest. Bei weiteren Fragen melde dich gerne per E-Mail bei uns.

Danke für deine Anmeldung!

Deine Anmeldung war erfolgreich! In Kürze wirst du von uns eine Bestätigungsmail erhalten, in der du alle Daten noch einmal aufgelistet findest. Bei weiteren Fragen melde dich gerne per E-Mail bei uns.